Social networksLinked inTwitter
AABTAM Symposium
Advanced Automotive Battery Technology, Application and Market
Wednesday, February 6 to Friday February 8, 2013

2013 AABTAM Symposium - Advanced Automotive Battery Technology, Application and Market - overview

Menahem Anderman


Session 1: Market Development of HEVs, EVs, and their Batteries



Session Chairman:

Dr. Menahem Anderman, President, Advanced Automotive Batteries


President of Advanced Automotive Batteries and founder of Total Battery Consulting, Inc., Dr. Anderman has led the development and commercialization of high-power Ni-Cd batteries, Li-Ion batteries, and ultracapacitors and spent the last ten years conducting assessments of energy-storage technologies for advanced vehicles, publishing Advanced Automotive Battery Industry Reports and chairing the AABC.

Heinz-Willi Vassen

Session 2: Energy Storage for Hybrid Vehicles


Session Chairman:

Heinz-Willi Vassen, Manager Energy and Storage Systems, Audi AG


Mr. Vassen has been manager of energy and storage systems at Audi since 2006. He joined Audi AG in 1999 as diagnostics engineer and became manager of gateway ECU and data buses in 2004. Mr. Vassen studied electrical engineering at the RWTH Aachen, Germany and was a system engineer of engine control at Mannesmann VDO AG between 1997 and 1999.

Ted J. Miller

Session 3: Battery Technology for PHEVs and EVs


Session Chairman:

Ted J. Miller, Senior Manager of Energy Storage Strategy and Research, Ford


Ted Miller’s team is responsible for energy-storage strategy, research, development, and worldwide implementation of hybrid electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, fuel cell hybrid electric vehicles, and battery electric vehicles. Mr. Miller is a member and Chairman of the United States Advanced Battery Consortium (USABC) Management Committee and past Chairman of the USABC Technical Advisory Committee. He is the principle investigator for Ford/University Research Alliance energy storage research programs at MIT and the University of Michigan.

Steven Clark

Session 4: Automotive Battery Pack Design and Integration


Session Chairman:

Steven Clark, Senior Manager Energy Storage & HV Systems, Chrysler Group LLC


Mr. Clark is currently the Senior Manager of the Energy Storage & HV Systems Department at Chrysler Group LLC in Auburn Hills, MI. Mr. Clark is also on the Management Committee of the U.S. Advanced Battery Consortium (USABC). He joined Chrysler in 1984 and has held positions in 12 volt Powernet & Batteries, E/E Systems, Powertrain E/E Systems, Core Powertrain Controllers and the HEV team at the Hybrid Development Center in Troy, MI. Mr. Clark’s current responsibilities include: Energy Storage Systems, Battery Management Systems and High Voltage Systems development. Mr. Clark holds a BSME and an MBA from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, MI.

Craig Childers

Session 5: EV Charging Technology, Logistics and Infrastructure


Session Chairman:

Craig Childers, Air Resources Engineer, Zero Emissions Vehicle (ZEV), California Air Resources Board


Craig Childers has worked as an Air Resources Engineer in the Zero Emissions Vehicle (ZEV) Implementation Section of the California Air Resources Board (ARB) since 1999. There he is responsible for addressing technical issues related to ZEVs and “ZEV-enabling” advanced technology vehicles, including hybrid electric vehicles. In 2003, Craig developed the advanced technology-partial (credit) ZEV (i.e., AT-PZEV) category within the California ZEV regulations. Most hybrids sold in California are now certified to meet this stringent standard. Craig has been part of the team that is revising and enforcing the California ZEV regulations since 1999, developed California ARB’s electric vehicle charging standard requirement, and is presently developing its transitional ZEV (i.e., TZEV) category requirements. Craig earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Davis.