Social networksLinked inTwitter
LIB Technology Symposium
Large Lithium Ion Battery Technology & Application (LLIBTA)
Monday, June 15 to Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Chemistry Track

Advanced Automotive Battery Conferences

AABC 2015 – LIB Technology Symposium - Chemistry Track

Joint session with Engineering Track session 1A
Session 1A:

Government-Sponsored Battery R&D

The U.S. Department of Energy is spending well over $100 million per year on battery R&D with the aim to develop the battery systems of the future, which will have higher performance and longer life and a lower price tag than the current systems. In this unique session, battery R&D program managers from some of the leading national labs will discuss their organizations’ activities in this domain. Following these presentations, a series of 8-minute talks will be offered by poster presenters—both from national labs and other battery research centers—whose posters will be on display during the poster session that will close the day’s technical program.


Dave Howell
Session Chairman:
Dave Howell, Program Manager for Hybrid Electric Systems R&D Vehicle Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Mr. Dave Howell is the Program Manager for Hybrid Electric Systems R&D for the Vehicle Technologies Office at the U.S. Department of Energy Headquarters in Washington DC. He is responsible for managing the Department’s R&D portfolio of projects related to electric drive vehicle batteries, drive components, and vehicle systems analysis and testing. He is also the Department’s Technology Development Manager for the Electric Drive Vehicle Battery Manufacturing Initiative grants awarded through the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act and serves as the Department’s representative to the United States Advanced Battery Consortium Management Committee. Mr. Howell has over 28 years of experience planning and successfully executing complex, multi-disciplined research & development activities that include hybrid and electric vehicle R&D, advanced battery research and manufacturing, advanced structural materials research and processing, and advanced lubricants & precision mechanisms.

Joint session with Engineering Track session 1B
Session 1B:

"Posters + 8" Presentations


Venkat Srinivasan
Session Chairman:
Venkat Srinivasan, Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies (BATT) Electrochemical Technologies Group, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Dr. Venkat Srinivasan is Head of the Energy Storage and Distributed Resources Department at the Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. He also serves as the Acting Director of the Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies (BATT) Program and Deputy Director of the recently announced Energy Storage Hub, titled Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR). Dr. Srinivasan's research interest is in developing the next-generation batteries for use in vehicle and grid applications. At present, he has projects focused on studying the degradation and performance limitations in advanced lithium-ion cathode and anode materials and on developing high power, low-cost flow batteries for use in stationary energy-storage applications. Dr. Srinivasan received his PhD from the University of South Carolina in Chemical Engineering in 2000. His thesis topic included various aspects in electrochemical capacitors and the nickel hydroxide electrode.

Session 2:

Key Lithium-Ion Materials R&D

In this session, leading materials R&D professionals will review the prospects of advanced cathodes, anodes, and electrolytes that promise to deliver better performance, life, and safety, at equal or lower cost than current chemistries, and to provide enhanced value for large Li-Ion batteries.
Kang Xu
Session Chairman:
Kang Xu, Senior Chemist, Electrochemistry Branch, U. S. Army Research Laboratory

Dr. Kang Xu is a senior chemist at Electrochemistry Branch of U. S. Army Research Laboratory. He received his Ph. D. under the tutelage of Prof. Austen Angell in Arizona State University, and has been conducting research on electrolytes and interphasial chemistry in various energy storage devices for the past 20 years. His work has received numerous recognitions and awards. In addition to the numerous new salts, solvents and additives he invented and the concept of Li+-solvation-interphasial chemistry correlation he proposed, he is best known in the field for his two comprehensive reviews on electrolytes published at Chemical Reviews in 2004 and 2014 respectively.

Session 3:
Industrial Development of Lithium-Ion Cell Materials
In this session, materials and electrode-processing vendors will discuss advances in active and inactive materials and electrode-manufacturing technology.


Monique Richard
Session Chairman:
Monique Richard, Senior Principal Engineer Material Engineering Division, Toyota Technical Center, Toyota Motor Engineering & Manufacturing, N.A. Inc.

Dr. Monique Richard is a Senior Principal Engineer at Toyota Technical Center (TTC), a division of Toyota Engineering & Manufacturing North America in the Materials Engineering division. Dr. Richard is currently responsible for materials research and development, product benchmarking and strategic market investigation. Dr. Richard represents Toyota as the technical lead for Li-battery standards development at SAE. This includes chairing SAE materials testing committee and is a member of the SAE Vehicle Battery steering committee. Dr. Richard joined TTC in 2004 as a principal scientist for battery material research, specifically the identification of unique technologies that would bypass current battery performance. Dr. Richard received her Doctorate from Dalhousie University (Halifax Canada).

Session 4:

Beyond Lithium-Ion

In this session, we will explore prospects and challenges for futuristic rechargeable-battery chemistries, which are theoretically capable of providing higher energy densities and/or lower cost than Lithium-Ion chemistries.


Venkat Srinivasan
Session Chairman:
Martin Winter, Chair, Applied Material Science for Energy Conversion and Storage, MEET Battery Research Center, Institute of Physical Chemistry, University of Muenster


Prof. Martin Winter is the scientific director of the MEET Battery Research Center at Muenster University. MEET stands for Münster Electrochemical Energy Technology and the director of the Helmholtz Institute Muenster (HI MS) “Ionics in Energy Storage”. Prof. Winter has been the spokesperson of the Innovation Alliance LIB 2015 of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Today he is an associate of the National Platform E-Mobility (NPE) and he is the head of the research council of the Battery Forum Germany. For his scientific achievements Martin Winter has been awarded amongst others with the Battery Technology Award of the Electrochemical Society and the Research Award as well as the Technology Award of the International Battery Materials Association and as Fellow of The Electrochemical Society.