Social networksLinked inTwitter
AABTAM Symposium
Advanced Automotive Battery Technology, Application and Market
Wednesday, February 5 to Friday February 7, 2014

2014 AABTAM Symposium - Advanced Automotive Battery Technology, Application and Market - Overview

Menahem Anderman

Session 1: xEV and xEV-Battery Market


Session Chairman:

Menahem Anderman, President, Advanced Automotive Batteries


President of Advanced Automotive Batteries and founder of Total Battery Consulting, Inc., Dr. Anderman has led the development and commercialization of high-power Ni-Cd batteries, Li-Ion batteries, and ultracapacitors and spent the last ten years conducting assessments of energy-storage technologies for advanced vehicles, publishing Advanced Automotive Battery Industry Reports and chairing the AABC.

Daniel Kok

Session 2: Energy Storage for Low-Voltage Hybrids


Session Chairman:

Daniel Kok, Manager, Advanced Electrified Powertrain Systems, Ford Motor Co.


Dr. Daniel Kok is Ford Motor Company's Manager for Advanced Electrified Powertrain Systems. In 1994, he graduated as M.Sc. Mechanical Engineering and started working as a Research Associate at Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands. From 1999 to 2000, he worked for TNO Automotive in Delft, The Netherlands, as Project Leader Hybrid Electric Vehicles. In 1999, he received his Ph.D. degree based on a thesis "Design Optimisation of a Flywheel Hybrid Vehicle". In 2000, he joined the Ford Research Center in Aachen, Germany as Technical Specialist. In July 2005, he transferred to the Ford Dunton Engineering Center in the UK as Global Manager for Micro-Hybrid Systems. In November 2011, he transferred to Ford Dearborn Engineering Center in the US. In his current position, he is responsible for the system design of Ford’s next generation of electrified vehicles.

Matthias Ullrich

Session 3: Lithium-Ion Batteries for High-Voltage Hybrids and PHEVs


Session Chairman:

Matthias Ullrich, Manager Advanced Battery Technology, Volkswagen AG


Dr. Matthias Ullrich manages advanced battery technology at Volkswagen AG where he is in charge of the predevelopment of battery technology and development of battery modular concepts with a focus on management system, safety, and life. From 1994 to 2000 he was with VARTA where he worked on lithium ion cells development and automotive battery systems.

Steven Clark

Session 4: Battery Pack Technology


Session Chairman:

Steven Clark, Senior Manager Energy Storage & HV Systems, Chrysler Group LLC


Mr. Steven Clark is currently the Senior Manager of the Energy Storage & HV Systems Department at Chrysler Group LLC in Auburn Hills, MI. Mr. Clark is also on the Management Committee of the U.S. Advanced Battery Consortium (USABC). He joined Chrysler in 1984 and has held positions in 12 volt Powernet & Batteries, E/E Systems, Powertrain E/E Systems, Core Powertrain Controllers and the HEV team at the Hybrid Development Center in Troy, MI. Mr. Clark’s current responsibilities include: Energy Storage Systems, Battery Management Systems and High Voltage Systems development. Mr. Clark holds a BSME and an MBA from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, MI.

Mark S. Duvall

Session 5: EV Technology, Logistics and Infrastructure


Session Chairman:

Mark S. Duvall, Director, Energy Utilization, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)


Mark Duvall is responsible for EPRI's research and development program for electric transportation, including electric, plug-in hybrid, and fuel cell vehicle programs and related advanced infrastructure. He oversees a number of partnerships and collaborations between EPRI and electric utilities, automotive companies, local, state, and federal agencies, national laboratories, and academic research institutions. Prior to joining EPRI, Mark held the position of Principal Development Engineer at the Hybrid Electric Vehicle Center of the University of California, Davis. He has worked in the field of advanced transportation since 1990 and has led the development of several prototype advanced vehicles. He holds B.S and M.S degrees in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Davis and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University.